Jamestown School District Holding a Town Hall Meeting on a School Referendum
Posted by KSJB News on 5/18/2017 1:01:00 AM.

JAMESTOWN, ND -(submitted) – The Jamestown Public Schools Citizen’s Advisory Committee has taken shape and invites the community to a town hall meeting on May 18.

The meeting will primarily be an opportunity to gather the community’s input  on future developments at Jamestown Public Schools, but will also allow the committee to share its initial priorities.

Town Hall Meeting
Thursday, May 18
5:30 – 7:30 p.m.
Jamestown Middle School Thompson Community Room

Since 2016, Jamestown Public Schools has been working to gather information and feedback on several items, including the expected life of our facilities, a 10-year capital maintenance plan including safety and security measures, updated enrollment projections, K-12 infrastructure and technology, flex space at the elementary level, locations of high school activities, JHS Transition House, and perspectives of staff, school board members and the community about 21st century learning and what our students need for careers of the future. The town hall is a next step in the information gathering and sharing process to help determine what’s best for the future of our schools.

The Citizen’s Advisory Committee was formed out of these discussions and members include:

School Board Members

Sedric Trevithick

Steve Veldkamp

School Leadership

Superintendent Rob Lech

JHS Principal Adam Gehlhar

JMS Principal Ryan Harty

Washington Elementary Principal Phyllis Clemens

Business Manager Sally Ost

School Staff Representatives

Kelly Bauer – 1st Grade Teacher at Gussner Elementary

Cody Mickelson – Foreign Language Teacher at JMS/JHS and JEA President

Mari Stilwell – Elementary Instructional Coach

Susanna Walker – Teacher at Jamestown North

Laura Weis – Language Arts at JMS

Community Representatives

Candace Dempsey – Retired

Travis Dillman – Engineer at Interstate Engineering and Current Interim City Engineer at City of Jamestown

Laurie Kramer – Licensed Social Worker

Carrie Orn – Dentist

Mindi Schmitz – Environmental Lobbyist and Former School Board Member

Michelle Solensky – University of Jamestown Professor

Harley Trefz - Retired

Ron Truax – Pioneer Seed

Dan Tweten – UTC

Larry Ukestad - Retired

Amy Walters – Director of Two Rivers Activities Center (TRAC) and Former Program Coordinator at South East Educational Cooperative

Provided by CBS News